Skip navigation

Behold, Kingdoms 0.1.0 has been released. Kingdoms is a hobby project of mine I’ve been working on for the past couple of months. It’s a strategy game, where you lead a nation from stone age until the bittersweet end – in other words, a Civilization-like game. I’ve been wanting to write one for a long time, and I’m glad to see it’s doable.

It borrows features from all Civilization games I’ve played: graphics from Civ 1 (because I’m no artist), the configuration file type from Civ 2 (back when it was simple), strategic resources and culture from Civ 3 and (part of) the combat system from Civ 4. By the way, that’s also the reason why I wanted something else than FreeCiv: I find it’s too similar to Civ 2, which was never my favorite Civ game.

Here are some screenshots:

Babylonians vs. Aztecs

A map editor is included

You can get Kingdoms from its web page – there’s the source as well as the Windows binary. There are still quite a few features I wanted to implement but haven’t had the time yet, so if something bugs you, let me know.

2 Comments

  1. So far it’s a good deal better than Freeciv. I was really sad that after “Medicine” there wasn’t anything left to discover. Keep on the good work!
    Just a thought: as most people will play on laptops nowadays it would make sense to have the key bindings configurable. I had to modify the source to get some roguelike-style keyboard working.

  2. Doesn’t work on windows 7.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

